Modern Classics

Posted on

Entertainment Weekly came out with a list of 100 Modern Classics. Below are the top ten. How many have you read?

1. The Road , Cormac McCarthy (2006)
2. Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, J.K. Rowling (2000)
3. Beloved, Toni Morrison (1987)
4. The Liars’ Club, Mary Karr (1995)
5. American Pastoral, Philip Roth (1997)
6. Mystic River, Dennis Lehane (2001)
7. Maus, Art Spiegelman (1986/1991)
8. Selected Stories, Alice Munro (1996)
9. Cold Mountain, Charles Frazier (1997)
10. The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle, Haruki Murakami (1997)

4 thoughts on “Modern Classics

    Tina said:
    January 9, 2009 at 1:08 pm

    Only 2 for me – – Harry Potter and Cold Mountain.

    Tara said:
    January 9, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I read Harry Potter, and the first chapter or so of Cold Mountain, when I was warned that it wasn’t a “happy” book. Maybe we should pick on for book club. Not The Road-I hear it’s pretty depressing. Of course, I’m still only on page 4 of Anna and the King, so I have no bussiness picking another book.

    LeeAnn Volk said:
    January 11, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Ony one!! That is so sad! But I really could not do Cold Mountain it was so depressing! Maybe I should try it again…then again maybe not!

    dunowland said:
    January 14, 2009 at 3:58 am

    I have to say I haven’t read any. Well maybe the Harry Potter book, I think. I can’t remember.

Leave a Reply

