Anna And The King — Thoughts?

Posted on

I finally finished it! Sadly, it was the juvenile version, 192 pages and about 14 point font with pictures. But I think that it might give the general idea of the larger, 400 page book.

It was not one of my favorites. I did not love any of the characters and therefore it was hard to become invested in the book. I appreciated Anna’s courage, but I heard that she overplayed her role in the progression of Siam, and so that made me not trust the telling of the story. And I really admired how the King wanted to educate his children. But I was annoyed how he went back on his promise to increase Anna’s salary — it reminded me of an old boss I had!!

4 thoughts on “Anna And The King — Thoughts?

    Tina said:
    January 18, 2009 at 3:25 am

    It’s no secret that I like the book. Liked it enough to read it a second time. My favorite genre is historical fiction. I can’t really stand history in it’s pure form and historical fiction is watered down enough to make history interesting for me. I also love to read about other cultures. Different cultures fascinate me so I guess that was the draw for me. I didn’t have any trouble getting into the book and finishing it. As far as Anna overplaying her role in Siam . . . I think we all embellish a little, or maybe a lot depending upon our audience.

    The journal that I keep doesn’t really reflect completely what goes on in the life of my family. I don’t want to hurt my children who will probably read my journal after I pass away. I don’t tell untruths . . . I just don’t give the whole picture.

    I didn’t do any research into Anna’s life other than the book, so I’ll just give her the benefit of the doubt! In my version of the book, the author stated that the book was 75 percent fact and 25 percent fiction based on fact . . . . It seemed to me that the author drew the conclusions about the effect Anna had on Siam, and not Anna herself . . . I could be wrong though! People’s perceptions of the same event can be very interesting, especially when cultural differences are involved.

    My 2 cents!

    Tara said:
    January 19, 2009 at 12:21 pm

    Not my favorite either. I heard that she gives herself credit for much more than she should. I have not idea what the truth was (didn’t really research it), but just couldnt’ get past it. It was like Al Gore saying he invented the internet.

    Jana said:
    January 20, 2009 at 3:50 am

    I didn’t finish the book either. I think I made it to page 270 or so. It just didn’t hold my interest. I usually like historical fiction, but this one fell flat for me. I was like you, Alicia, and didn’t connect to the character. I felt that the book was disjointed and a lot could have been left out.

    LeeAnn Volk said:
    January 20, 2009 at 4:25 pm

    I am so sad for those of you who didn’t like the book! I, like Tina enjoyed it and took it for what it was worth. One woman’s experience in her view. I concure with Tina that everyones viewpiont of an experience is different. I believe that Anna had a great effect on some of her students and in the lives of those that she helped. She seemed to be a very religious person and the fair and balanced treatment of all individuals was of paramount importance to her. So for me the book had a great message to it besides just being a historical read.

    I enjoyed the cultural aspect of the book also. The second time around even more since Aaron is there on his mission.

    I love history so this was a great read for me.

Leave a Reply

