Long Lost: My Review

Posted on

Harlan Coben is my favorite author, and I returned to this author again and again because I liked his main character: Myron Bolitar. Myron was in Coben’s early works and then he went away for awhile as Coben explored other characters in great books such as Tell No One and No Second Chance.

Myron Bolitar came back a few years ago and returns once again in Coben’s newest book, Long Lost, released April of 2009.

In the beginning of Myron’s adventures the bad guys were corrupt police officers or competing sports agents, doing bad things to gain the business of new clients, or even the neighborhood New Jersey mafia.

Ah, the good old days.

In this book, Myron faces what we hear about everyday in the news: terrorists. Due to a ldesperate phone call from a long lost love interest, Terese Collins, Myron flies to Paris and get heavily involved in bringing down a nightmarish terrorist cell.

I still love the main character, Myron. I love the relationship that he has with his best friends and his parents. I love the humor and the wit throughout the dialogue.

But, I hated how heavy the subject material was in this book. I hated what happens, and I hated the last chapter. Nothing here gets tied up in a pretty little bow. There’s no hope, just more problems.

But I’m a Myron addict. When the next book rolls out (I hope another book rolls out) I’ll read it. And hope for a return of a dirty sports agent or even just the mafia.

One thought on “Long Lost: My Review

    Tara said:
    August 8, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    no neat little bow-I don’t think I can read it. Maybe his next book will finish it up and then I’ll read both

Leave a Reply

