Caught Skimming

Posted on

For the month of September our bookclub is reading The Pillars of the Earth by Ken Follet. This book is very good, but very LONG! I have a paperback copy with littler print and my copy of the book is nearly a 1000 pages.

I like the epic story, I like drama and the suspense and all of the storylines. But, I have to admit, I was getting a little overwhelmed by it all near page 600. I just wanted to know: did Ellen’s curse really work? did Tom get to finish his cathedral? does Aliena find love? does William die a horrible and painful death? did Richard regain his Earldom?

So, I gave up. I started skimming and answered many of my questions. And now I wonder, do I have to go back and read the other 400 pages?

3 thoughts on “Caught Skimming

    Tara said:
    August 26, 2009 at 5:39 pm

    I’ve been guility myself of reading plot summaries on Wikapedia

    LeeAnn Volk said:
    August 26, 2009 at 6:52 pm

    CHEATERS!! I am shocked!

    Tina said:
    August 27, 2009 at 10:43 am

    Oh My GOSH! Thanks for the heads up! I need to get that book PRONTO!

Leave a Reply

