The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown — My Review

Posted on

I greatly enjoyed The DaVinci Code by Dan Brown. The topics introduced by that book were fascinating, and, one in particular, I had always privately considered, that being the marriage between Jesus Christ and Mary Magdalene, and so I was excited to have this ‘controversial’ discussion with people outside of a religious forum.

And now there’s The Lost Symbol. Once you begin reading you will see that the format and storyline is very similar to DaVinci. There’s a villian, a dear friend in trouble, a race against the clock, symbols to decipher, old secrets to uncover. You’re left wondering, haven’t I read this all before?

If Da Vinci had not come first, this would have been a great book on its own. But following Da Vinci, it seems to rehash a succssful formula, and I wanted more.

In addition, I found the reason why the CIA was involved and the issue of “national security” to be ridiculous. And, the ultimate solution to the meaning of “The Word” was something that I have known for decades. In The Lost Symbol, Brown off-handedly mocks the Prophet Joseph Smith and the translation of the Book of Mormon, but he really shouldn’t. We are so ahead of him.

4 thoughts on “The Lost Symbol by Dan Brown — My Review

    Tara said:
    October 27, 2009 at 12:45 pm

    Still sitting by the side of my bed. I better hurry up and read it so we can chat.

    tina said:
    October 27, 2009 at 2:27 pm

    and the baptism for the dead comment . . . . give me a break, do people really think we baptize cadavers? He has to think this, because I can’t see why it would be thought of as weird to do ordinances for the dead . . . . . I didn’t even realize that people might think this until this past year . . . . the thought has never even entered my brain!

    LeeAnn Volk said:
    October 29, 2009 at 1:51 pm

    I to was not very impressed with this book. Time for Dan to step out of “the box” and come up with something new! I didn’t even like the main character in this one and he’s the same dude from the Di Vinci Code!

    Don White said:
    November 5, 2009 at 2:28 am

    I liked The Lost Symbol, but I liked The God Machine by Sandom a lot more.

Leave a Reply

