City of Bones by Cassandra Clare — My Thoughts

Posted on Updated on

In the fantasy genre, there seem to be a few heavyweights. Harry Potter will always reign supreme. The Hunger Games is a personal favorite. I finished the first book and could not wait to read the second. I still cannot wait to read the third when it debuts. The Lightning thief was a good, entertaining story, but I was not clamoring to read the rest of the series. Of course, there’s also Twilight. Those books still have my respect as I could not wait for each book to come out and am excited about all of the movies. And then there’s City of Bones. . .

So, let’s just get the eeewwwww out of the way in regard to the Jace storyline. That just seemed to be unnecessary.

But what a story! Demons, vampires, werewolves, fairies, all in one story! What an imagination, what a story!

Again, I did not like the Jace storyline. I did like Simon. I loved his dialogue and his dedication, and the fact that he is an unlikely hero.  I loved any part of the book that had him in it. I did not like how things were not resolved at the end of the book.  Even the cup!  Just resolve the cup! I understand that there are two other books out there, but I would like a little more resolution.

It’s no Harry Potter. Or Hunger Games. Or Twilight. But I did like it more than The Lightning Thief.

One thought on “City of Bones by Cassandra Clare — My Thoughts

    Anonymous said:
    May 6, 2010 at 10:35 am

    ditto. I’m not going to try to convince anyone that it is a great piece of literature. However, any book that I can’t book down is a pretty good book. The entire Jace thing is NASTY!

Leave a Reply

