Caught by Harlan Coben — My Thoughts

Posted on

I love anything by Harlan Coben.  I am never disappointed, and this book was not an exception.  I picked it up from the library on Saturday morning, ignored my family, food, baby, diapers. . .and finished late that evening.

Having recently finished a book where I did not like the heroine, hallelujah!, I liked one of the main characters, Wendy.  For Coben fans, she seems to be a female Myron.  I liked her courage and her flippancy.  When accused of. . .something. . .she invites the accuser to. . .do something.  And, trust me on this, it was a great moment. 

In the beginning of Caught, Wendy “catches” a popular kids counselor chatting online with an underage girl.  When he goes to the home, she steps out with the cameras, ala a MSNBC Special Report.

But, of course, things are not as they seem, all the way through the book.  I really enjoyed the end.  I was hoping something like that happened, even though the evidence (blood!  fibers!) warned otherwise. 

Many of the questions are answered with a tight little bow at the end.  You find out what happened to the popular teen, Haley.  You find out why Dan was set-up.  You find out the mytery from their college years.  There’s closure on everything except for where the money went.  I have to admit, it bothers me.  There’s $2 million out there somewhere, and at the end of the book I still do not know where it is.

For Win fans, he’s in this book, as dashing and as helpful as always!

I loved this book and look forward to the next one!

Leave a Reply

