My Thoughts On Mockingjay — SPOILERS GALORE!

Posted on

I have loved the Hunger Games series. The story was so original and could be read and enjoyed by everyone. My neighbor loves them, my sister just finished staying up until the wee hours of the morning so she could finish Hunger Games, my nephew likes them — they are great!

That said, I was disappointed by Mockingjay. And I know why. It’s because Peeta was not Peeta and it just was not the same without him. The smart young man who was brave and understood his role and his self-appointed mission (saving Katniss at any cost) was missing. And the story was not the same without him.

I was disappointed by the selfishness of Katniss. If the roles had been reversed, Peeta would work with her daily to make sure she ‘came back.’ She was so willing to let go of Peeta and even kill Peeta a few times!

And I did not understand the Prim storyline. Why was she there? It came out of nowhere! I was not a huge fan of Gale, but when he told Katniss that taking care of her family was the one thing he had going for him, I felt so bad for him. (But I was glad he moved along. . .)

As for the Coin “shocker”, I was glad that she did it. When Coin decided to do another Hunger Games, you just knew it was never going to end. It was sad. This book really needed a big hero.

No tidy endings. They’ve been through a lot and the ending reflects that. I like the part where she says there are worse games to play. And I’m glad she ended up with the guy she ended up with. She doesn’t deserve him, but what can you do?

3 thoughts on “My Thoughts On Mockingjay — SPOILERS GALORE!

    tina said:
    September 8, 2010 at 12:51 pm

    just wanted you to know I’ve been here . . . . . . but I’m NOT going to read your post!!! Thanks for the “spoiler” warning!!! I’ll read it later ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Kristen said:
    October 6, 2010 at 5:20 am

    I agree with the hero, or lack thereof in the 3rd book. I’m torn between any war book have a tidy ending, but I was seriously disappointed in Katniss and her lack of integrity. Prim didn’t make sense at all. Plus the whole “storm Snow’s mansion” debacle Katniss dragged everyone through, for it to end up the way it did made me angry. It was just senseless and had no logic. And, the fact that she had to be drugged so much because she went into hysterics just got to be comical for me.

    Thanks for letting me blog stock…I just don’t have anyone to talk about this with. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Kristen said:
    October 6, 2010 at 5:21 am

    lol, stalk* pregnancy is killing my brains cells!!

Leave a Reply

