My Thoughts on Firefly Lane by Hannah

Posted on

I hated the review provided by Amazon.com because it implied that Johnny and Tully had an affair. You almost wait for that during the entire book. But, while he does start off by liking Tully, A LOT, like most adults he redefines “love” and finds it with his wife.

Whew. Glad I got that off of my chest.

I liked this book, though books about the friendship between two women is always full of drama and extreme generalizations. Tully chooses the career track and is incredibly famous. Kate chooses to stay at home and is incredibly overworked.

This book is absolutely saved by its ending. I cried and cried. I appreciate books that are good enough to make you feel something.

Being a stay-at-home Mom, I felt for Kate. Sometimes I want to go back to work and get a predictable paycheck and wear nice clothes and fancy shoes.

I love what Kate says at the end. She tells Tully:

“Here’s what I want you to know. I loved my life. For so long I was waiting for it to start, waiting for more. It seemed like all I did was drive and shop and wait. But you know what? I didn’t miss a thing with my family. Not a moment. I was there for all of it. That’s what I’ll remember.”

I thought that was beautiful.

One thought on “My Thoughts on Firefly Lane by Hannah

    Tara said:
    February 3, 2011 at 12:43 am

    happy tears or sad tears? I’ll read it if it’s happy tears

Leave a Reply

