My Thoughts on Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

Posted on Updated on

This was a nice, clean, good, easy-to-recommend book. Little CeeCee Honeycutt gets to live with her Great-Aunt Tootie following the death of her Mother, who was suffering from mental illness and ran in front of an ice cream truck.

Aunt Tootie lives in a very nice part of Savannah, Georgia, and CeeCee is quickly embraced by her aunt, her aunt’s cook, Oletta, and all of the neighbors.

Everyone in this book is female. The only male presence is Ceecee’s father, and he is a wimpy, gutless one at that.

This book is a little Steel Magnolias, a little The Secret Life of Bees, and a little Gone With The Wind. I kept waiting for Ceecee to Oletta “mammy”.

The only thing that I did not like was that Ceecee’s aunt was really slow to introduce her to any kids in the neighborhood. I kept thinking that if I had a niece move in I would be working the phone, looking for play groups. Kids need kids to be silly with and have fun with, and I thought that was a little weird that she spent months by herself with three much older women.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Saving CeeCee Honeycutt by Beth Hoffman

    tara said:
    March 18, 2011 at 12:06 am

    I’m putting this one on my llist

    trophy wife said:
    March 24, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    This is our book club’s book, so I guess I”m reading it soon

Leave a Reply

