My Thoughts on The Rebellion of Jane Clarke by Sally Gunning

Posted on

The one thing that I liked about this book was the kind manner in which it treated John Adams. Being a piece of historical fiction, “Jane” interacts with a few period people. Her brother is an employee of John Adams, and so he pops up in the book from time-to-time.

I like historical fiction, but I was not a huge fan of this book. Jane observes Massachusetts and Boston at a time right around the real Tea Party and the Boston ‘Massacre’. But she views it all dispassionately — seeing both sides, hating the extremism both sides are guilty of. It’s not a time to be dispassionate, and so it bothered me.

There was a surprise twist, and I appreciated that portion of the book. It kept me reading. But, overall, I think other works address this time better.

Leave a Reply

