My Thoughts on American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House

Posted on

Woohoo! I FINISHED IT!

Let me explain my joy. I have been reading this book since December of 2009. So, you should garner from that little piece of information that this book was not exactly a page-turner.

It was an interesting book. Primarily because Jackson was so interesting himself, so polarizing and internally contradictory. The sections regarding the Trail of Tears were sad, I hated Jackson’s disregard for the Supreme Court, he should have let Andrew Donelson stay home with his dying wife. . .well, one thing is for sure. . .this book makes you think, makes you judge, makes you reflect.

But I hope it does not take you 18 months.

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on American Lion: Andrew Jackson in the White House

    LeeAnn Volk said:
    April 21, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    I read a book like that. Took me about 5 years to finish it. Don’t get me wrong, it was a great book and I think back to it a lot. I just had to take breaks every now and then and read mindless drivel instead 🙂

    trophy wife said:
    April 22, 2011 at 2:47 pm

    I got the George Washington book for Christmas-haven’t even cracked it

Leave a Reply

