My Thoughts On The Giver By Lois Lowry

Posted on

On Mother’s Day all I wanted was a little quiet time so that I could finish The Giver.  But life is hectic with little kids, and I was able to read it, but I had to hurry at the end.  And so when I read the ending, I accepted it as written.  I did not look any deeper and consider that anything else was actually happening.

Until a few days later.  I read the Discussion Questions and it brought up the ‘alternate’ ending.  How could I have missed it!  But yet, I was sad as well.  Accepting it as written was a whole lot happier.

I liked this book.  It was a little Hunger Games.  A little Truman Show.  I thought about the Truman Show when they talked about people being “released” and when he was riding his bike — I just expected there to be a door, somewhere.

A great story, a fascinating premise, and an interesting ending to boot.  Though I do like one version more than the other.

One thought on “My Thoughts On The Giver By Lois Lowry

    trophy wife said:
    May 13, 2011 at 5:44 pm

    At the National Book Festival, Lowry said she thought the ending was happy

Leave a Reply

