My Thoughts On Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Posted on

This book won a Pulitzer Prize, and I really liked it. When I could sneak in a quiet moment, I ran to get this book. I even woke up early one morning so I could finish a chapter before my kids woke up.

The individual stories of the citizens of this little town were so well written. Each chapter, each story had a voice. Each story had pieces that struck a true voice, and I found bits and pieces of my life in this book. And the intensity was so subtle — you finish some chapters and wonder, ‘did that just happen? is she really going to do THAT?’ I loved it.

That said, I absolutely could not recommend this book because Elizabeth Strout swears like a sailor. It’s not just the ‘f’ word, though it certainly makes its appearance again and again. The ‘c’ word also is used several times, and it is absolutely not necessary, and I know many people would be offended by it.

One thought on “My Thoughts On Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

    tara said:
    May 20, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    March has scared me from reading an future Pulitizer books

Leave a Reply

