My Thoughts on Matched by Ally Condie

Posted on

I heard about this book and thought that it was a cross between Hunger Games and Lois Lowry’s The Giver. Really, how could you go wrong?

It was an interesting read, though I did not enjoy it as much as Hunger Games. In this book, Cassia is 17 and on her way to the Matching Banquet where she will discover her “Match”. While at the banquet she gets a great surprise. Her match is her best friend, Xander. Life could not be better.

After all, Cassia lives in a perfect society. Her day is laid out by the society. Where she can go, what recreation activites are options for her, what she can eat and where. She can read one of 100 book. She can read one of 100 poems. She marries who they tell her to and she will die on her 80th birthday. Everything is dictated by the Society.

Which Cassia is fine with until she takes home information about her “match” and a different face pops up. It’s not Xander. It’s Ky. And she knows Ky, too.

And there it begins. I got a little frustrated with Cassia in this book. I think that she turns to Ky because he is forbidden, and I think it’s a little ridiculous. She’s loved Xander her whole life. He is her best friend and someone she truly loves. I think that it was silly to pursue a relationship so aggressively with Ky.

But she’s 17. Even in a controlled society, rebellion is part of the process. So I sigh. And I feel bad for Xander. But this book is the first of a trilogy, and I have heard that his story is not over yet. Go Xander!

2 thoughts on “My Thoughts on Matched by Ally Condie

    Stephanie said:
    February 21, 2012 at 1:39 pm

    It’s a fun read. I’m rooting for Xander too. Though it makes me feel like I’m picking a son.
    : )

    Tara said:
    March 3, 2012 at 7:54 pm

    I “tagged” you in an 11 Questions Challenged. I’d love to hear your answers if you feel like playing along: http://trophyw.blogspot.com/2012/03/11-things-about-me.html

Leave a Reply

