What I’m Reading Now: The Hypnotist’s Love Story

Posted on


So far I am loving this book and am ever so sad that I am teaching a class right now and also have four kids. I could get some serious reading done if the world would just go away.

What Liane says on her website:

Many years ago I went out with a man who was being stalked by his ex-girlfriend. I was intrigued. After all, when you think of a stalker the image that normally comes to mind is a creepy (probably hairy) man lurking in basement. How could a seemingly normal, successful career woman behave in this extraordinary way? I wrote down the words “Ordinary Stalker” as a possible idea for a novel.

I wanted to create a believable, flawed character who is stalking a previous partner. Another subject that had always intrigued me is hypnotism. I decided the novel’s other main character would be a hypnotherapist. It was a wonderful excuse to go off and get myself hypnotised all in the name of research.

The result is The Hypnotist’s Love Story. It’s about Ellen, a hypnotherapist, who begins a relationship with a single father who is being stalked by his ex-girlfriend Saskia. After I wrote the first three chapters, I thought, Mmm, I think I’m accidentally writing a thriller. But although it does have elements of suspense, The Hypnotist’s Love Story is really a contemporary story about the murky areas between right and wrong, and the lines we’ll cross for love.

Leave a Reply

