My Thoughts On By Starlight

Posted on

Several times during this book I was distracted by the word “mercantile”. Really, truly, how often do you hear that word? I kept getting the time frame wrong. I’d hear mercantile and think “Oleson family” and “horse and carriage” and “1800s”. I’d be shocked back into the correct time frame whenever a character got in a vehicle and drove somewhere.

Nevertheless, Maddy works in her family’s mercantile during tough economic times. In order to keep the family business running and to enable her to get medical assistance for her father, she agrees to open a “speakeasy” in the basement of the mercantile. See, there’s that word again.

Things are progressing fine and her finances are starting to look up when Maddy’s ex-boyfriend returns to town. He promised to go to school, get his degree and return home to her, but he never came back. Seven years later, heartbroken and angry, Maddy must now confront this betrayal without even knowing another: he is there as an official of the government to shut down her speakeasy and to arrest her.

This is an easy read. It does have one sex scene in it which goes on for a few pages. The story was fine, but this is truly just a “fine” book. Nothing in here that makes me want to pick up the phone and tell all my friends about this fabulous book I found. Nothing in here that makes me want to read every single book by the author. It was just fine.

One thought on “My Thoughts On By Starlight

    Tara said:
    October 16, 2012 at 9:30 pm

    Hurry up and read one of those books that you need to call all your friends about. It’s been awhile since I read one.

Leave a Reply

