My Thoughts On “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green

Posted on Updated on

fault

I am always a little weary when starting a book that is the focus of so much hype. What if I do not like it? What if I am disappointed? Or worse, bored? What if I don’t get it? Will my best friends who swear by this book defriend me from Facebook? Will I be “that book reviewer” who did not like the most likeable book ever?

Thankfully, The Fault In Our Stars lived up to every bit of hype. I laughed. I cried. And then I sobbed. It was a brilliant story told brilliantly.

As a Mom, I loved Hazel for wanting so desperately to save her parents from further pain. I loved that she went all the way to Amsterdam in order to find out the ending for the mother of her favorite book. Is she okay? Clearly Hazel needed to know that her Mom was going to be okay when she was ‘no longer a Mother’, and I loved that about her.

I am excited for the movie to be released on June 6th. But can I confess something? I do not think that the actor who plays Augustus is very cute, and that is a big deal. Hazel mentions on nearly every other page how attractive Augustus is, and looking at the movie clips, I am not convinced. Is this another Peeta disappointment?

Leave a Reply

