Day: January 2, 2015

My Thoughts on The Ladies of Missalonghi

Posted on

I am a HUGE fan of Montgomery’s The Blue Castle. A clean romance from the author of Anne of Green Gables (who knew?!?) I was enchanted by how funny it was and how PERFECT the ending turned out to be.

The Ladies of Missalonghi reminded me a bit of The Blue Castle. An old maid, frustrated with her current situation, makes some serious changes after meeting Cousin Una.

Some parts made me nervous — I thought for awhile that this might be The Blue Castle’s evil twin. But the ending gives me hope that all will yet be well.

If you have not read The Blue Castle, read it! And if you read it and loved it, try this book next!

Happy reading!

ladies

What I Finished: The Ladies of Missalonghi

Posted on

ladies

From Amazon.com:

Sometimes fairy tales can come true-even for plain, shy spinsters like Missy Wright. Neither as pretty as cousin Alicia nor as domineering as mother Drusilla, she seems doomed to a quiet life of near poverty at Missalonghi, her family’s pitifully small homestead in Australia’s Blue Mountains.

But it’s a brand new century-the twentieth-a time for new thoughts and bold new actions.

And Missy Wright is about to set every self-righteous tongue in the town of Byron wagging. Because she has just set her sights on a mysterious, mistrusted and unsuspecting stranger … who just might be Prince-Charming in disguise.